Migrated articles to GitLab; probabilities of depletion mechanics

I decided to migrate the canonical version of articles to a GitLab wiki. Here are the reasons why:

  • I expect a high degree of interconnectedness between articles, which fits better in a wiki than in a sequential collection of blog articles.
  • It allows repository-based management of articles, which I find easier to deal with than WordPress.
  • Articles can be written natively in Markdown, which again I find easier to work with than WordPress’s Blocks. WordPress does have a Markdown block, but the native format is a bunch of verbose HTML.
  • Markdown also allows easier conversion for posting on Reddit.
  • WordPress’s image/video file management is difficult to work with.
  • I can publish the code I’ve been writing on GitLab alongside the articles.
  • Why not GitHub? Certainly GitHub has the larger community. However, GitHub’s wiki doesn’t have direct support for LaTeX. While there are workarounds on GitHub, I’d rather not deal with that extra annoyance. I’ll revisit this question if there’s a major change in either’s wiki feature set.

Probably the thing I’ll miss the most about WordPress is the reader analytics, and GitLab’s wiki does have some minor annoyances like capitalization of article titles, but it’s been a good trade so far.


I’ll still link anything that doesn’t fit well in a wiki here, as well as major articles. The first such article is about probabilities of depletion mechanics: wounds, hit dice, and Usage Die.

Leave a comment